top of page
Search
  • Professor K Vargas

COVID-19 In Puerto Rico

Updated: Apr 28, 2020

Corona Virus has been completely unexpected for me. In less than one week I was out of the university and on my way home back to Puerto Rico. I had mixed feelings leaving TSU because even though Puerto Rico is home and I was excited to be with my family, Nashville has been a key part of my life and almost like a second home. COVID-19 has impacted my life negatively and positively. First, it has affected me negatively because I had to pack everything and leave with limited notice, which had me with great anxiety and stress. It was Second, volleyball was taken away from me, which is my passion and the reason why I am in Nashville, and TSU. Third, we have been under quarantine and strict nonstop curfews, and therefore I cannot see my grandparents or any family members. Furthermore, because of the pandemic, I am living a monotonous routine of staying home all day, doing homework, exercising, and watching tv; when in all actuality, I commonly live within a variety of things. However, it has had many positive effects on my life. I am a person who loves the earth and because of quarantine, the Earth is healing. The grass is greener, the air is cleaner, the water is clearer, and the sky is bluer, with less contamination. Furthermore, I have realized more than ever how privileged I am to have a safe home and place where I can be with my loved ones in this hard time. Moreover, my family has been closer than ever and even though we are enclosed within the house we try everything to change the dynamic. It has been a moment where I have internalized and realized how much I have grown and how relentless I am, because even though it is crazy everything that is happening I am staying sane and I have been super positive through all of this adversity. Finally, facing adversity it's hard and conflicting, but I need to say that is one of the greatest things that has happened to me because now I have learned the true meaning of the essential elements of life.

- Sofia C. Garcia



40 views

Recent Posts

See All

Covid-19

Name: Yulduz Shaymardanova Age: 20 Hometown: Surkhandarya region, Uzbekistan. International Business (Sophomore International Student) I've always wondered what should happen to make the whole world a

How Covid-19 Affected My Life

Name: San Sul Age: 18 Hometown: Seoul, South Korea Major: Business Back in February, I dreamed of meeting new friends and experiencing all the exciting things that my university would offer me. Even w

bottom of page