top of page
Search
  • Professor K Vargas

Health Protocols and Economic Changes


Due to recent health protocols and economic changes regarding COVID – 19, the neighborhood stores have taken all precautions to keep people safe. I have gone to several stores to try to get essential needs and witnessed social distancing, cleaning the carts, and body protection. Stores have attempted to make things fair and easy by changing store hours to restock, designating times to the elderly, and creating a number limit on cleaning supplies. Some stores have changed and revised the exchange and return policies to prevent more germs from spreading. One day on my way into Family Dollar for my mom to return something I realized that we could not return the item at this time. I was not at all upset; I respect that the companies are considering the people’s health. Different states are taking different actions but keeping the same overall goal to keep everyone as safe and healthy as possible.

After the Mayor declared a city-wide lockdown, people were instructed to stay home, work, from home, and college students had to finish the rest of the semester online. Nashville is known for experiencing traffic that can make 15-minute trips 60-minute trips. The interstates have been very empty since the quarantine started; normal traffic jammed areas have been clear. I realized how people have been doing as told and staying home when we drove past an interstate area that is normally full of traffic after work and school. I think that the time people are forced to spend in their homes can be a good way to spend time with your family. Working from home and doing classes online can create a few stressful and frustrating times but taking a breather can help during this time. I am not a fan of this quarantine or online classes, but I have been finding ways to cope with the circumstances. We will get through this pandemic long as we try to stay positive and take things one day at a time.

-Jermiah Temple

41 views

Recent Posts

See All

Covid-19

Name: Yulduz Shaymardanova Age: 20 Hometown: Surkhandarya region, Uzbekistan. International Business (Sophomore International Student) I've always wondered what should happen to make the whole world a

How Covid-19 Affected My Life

Name: San Sul Age: 18 Hometown: Seoul, South Korea Major: Business Back in February, I dreamed of meeting new friends and experiencing all the exciting things that my university would offer me. Even w

bottom of page