top of page
Search
  • Professor K Vargas

How has COVID-19 changed my life

Updated: Apr 15, 2020

This spring semester was supposed to be my comeback. The fall semester threw me for a loop. It taught me a lot about myself and what I need to change in order to be successful while I was away from home. This journey into my young womanhood has been a tough one, but the spring semester was going to be a step in the right direction. This plan fell through due to COVID-19. Coming home and completing online classes set me behind. Not only am I flooded with more classwork than before, but I feel that my progress is halted or being erased. I was working very hard on being more social and building connections with my peers/family and I can’t do that under quarantine. I was also working on being more independent by driving places by myself (I hate driving and Nashville is scary) and taking the time out to do things for my mental health. Keeping these goals and others are hard to do at home. College gives you the freedom that being at home will not. Another problem I have come across is that it is much harder to find the motivation I need from home than in college. I’ve struggled with this before moving off campus, but being home gives me more time to procrastinate.


The only positive COVID-19 has brought me is the fact that we have to stock up on food. This gives my family the chance to try new recipes, and I get to spend time with my brother more. I can't visit my friends, grandparents, go out to eat or go to the movies like I want. This virus changed the plans I had for myself, and I’m slowly trying to figure my life back out. Hopefully this will all end soon, so that everything can go back to normal and we can be with our loved ones.

-Lauryn Boyd

32 views

Recent Posts

See All

Covid-19

Name: Yulduz Shaymardanova Age: 20 Hometown: Surkhandarya region, Uzbekistan. International Business (Sophomore International Student) I've always wondered what should happen to make the whole world a

How Covid-19 Affected My Life

Name: San Sul Age: 18 Hometown: Seoul, South Korea Major: Business Back in February, I dreamed of meeting new friends and experiencing all the exciting things that my university would offer me. Even w

bottom of page