top of page
Search
  • Professor K Vargas

The Day my Life Changed

March 2nd-6th was Spring Break 2020 for Tennessee State University. Over the break, a tornado hit Nashville overnight on March 3, 2020.  I viewed pictures of how bad the tornado impacted Nashville all over social media and I was a little nervous about returning. I also saw viewed the news and social media during this time and it mentioned that the Coronavirus (COVID-19) was spreading rapidly in the U.S. I did not take it seriously at the beginning. I returned to campus and resumed my classes on March 9, 2020. This is because everything seemed normal. However, during the middle of the week, the news showed that the virus was spreading rapidly. On March 11, 2020, Tennessee State University students, faculty and staff received an email stating classes will transition to online-only and this would begin on March 16, 2020. All campus events were canceled. Unfortunately, we received another email on March 13, 2020, which stated that we had to move out by Saturday, March 21, 2020. So now I’m at home and I've adjusted to the online format. It has not been easy and personally I do not like the online classes. It is hard to get in touch with some of my professors. I learn better face-to-face rather than online. However, I have been taking my remote courses seriously, I’ve been going to the zoom classes. This has been a learning process. 


Since returning home, I started back working at Wendy’s. Due to coronavirus, the lobby was closed, and all employees’ hours were cut. I was only getting 10 hours a week and that was not enough for me. I needed a car. So, I went job hunting, that was hard because everything was closed. I applied at Kroger’s (grocery store), a few caregiving jobs, and a warehouse called Redi Shade. A week later Redi Shade called me in for an interview. I am so blessed that they offered me the job. The job is considered essential because we make disposable blinds and we’ve been busy. Fast forward on Tuesday, April 7, 2020, and I made a ”big girl ” purchase and brought me a car. I was so excited because this is something that I saved up for on my own. I was so excited about the car that I forgot that the Clerk Office and DMV were closed due to COVID-19. So, I can’t register my car or get my tags. I tried for about three days and there was no answer. Finally, I was able to reach someone at the clerk’s office. She said that it was okay for me to drive the car at this time if I have proof that I purchased the car and car insurance. This has been so scary and I feel just a reason for police to pull me over. I've just been going to work and back home. The police got behind me a few times and didn't even pull me over. This is all just interesting to me. 


Overall, my freshman year of college has been good. I’ve learned to branch out, try new things, go to rate my professor before picking the class. I’ve also met some amazing people. I enjoy being at Tennessee State University because it feels like home. The fall semester was great! I was able to experience my first TSU homecoming. Due to COVID-19, I didn’t really get to experience the spring semester, I didn’t get to attend the Tiger fest. I pray my TSU family stay healthy during this time.

- Juaneshia Cowan

9 views

Recent Posts

See All

Covid-19

Name: Yulduz Shaymardanova Age: 20 Hometown: Surkhandarya region, Uzbekistan. International Business (Sophomore International Student) I've always wondered what should happen to make the whole world a

How Covid-19 Affected My Life

Name: San Sul Age: 18 Hometown: Seoul, South Korea Major: Business Back in February, I dreamed of meeting new friends and experiencing all the exciting things that my university would offer me. Even w

bottom of page