top of page
Search
  • Professor K Vargas

Thunderstorms

Two days ago, there was a severe thunderstorm in my town. Usually when it storms, I get excited because I know I’ll be rocked to sleep by the sound of the rain hitting my window. This storm was different. I wasn’t able to relax nor did I sleep well when the storm hit and I was upset. When I first caught wind of the coronavirus, it was in early December and I was quite intrigued but also kind of concerned. The rate that the virus was spreading in China was very concerning to me. If this was a normal flu outbreak it wouldn’t have spread as aggressively as it did. My roommate was annoyed by me because I would always talk about the coronavirus and I would tell her how intrigued I was by it. She told me on multiple occasions that this virus isn’t threatening and that I was obsessing over it. Well as I'm sitting in my house, because of a nationwide government ruled quarantine caused by coronavirus, I think we can see who was right in the end. Anyways, as the months passed, I noticed that the numbers were steadily rising all over the world and I knew it would soon impact my life. Had I known how deeply it would have, I would have prayed a little harder for the world. It feels like an apocalypse. Every time I go outside to run a quick errand, the roads are barren, people are covered in medical protective gear, I can’t find toilet paper or hand sanitizer anywhere, I can’t hang out with my friends who live in the same neighborhood as me, schools are closed, it’s madness! Like I said, I knew it would impact my daily life, I just didn’t expect it to be this intense. So, when it stormed and I wasn’t able to fall asleep or relax like I did before this pandemic started, it just reminded me of how everything has changed

My family and I went to Myrtle beach to celebrate my mom's birthday at the end of march and the beach was empty the full week.

- Celon Johnson

19 views

Recent Posts

See All

Covid-19

Name: Yulduz Shaymardanova Age: 20 Hometown: Surkhandarya region, Uzbekistan. International Business (Sophomore International Student) I've always wondered what should happen to make the whole world a

How Covid-19 Affected My Life

Name: San Sul Age: 18 Hometown: Seoul, South Korea Major: Business Back in February, I dreamed of meeting new friends and experiencing all the exciting things that my university would offer me. Even w

bottom of page